Have a laugh on me

We're not all in the same boat, some of us struggle to even get in the boat!

Sneaky sneaky

Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking a lot about the nature/nurture debate recently – but not for the reasons you might think.

For the life of me I can’t understand where or how No.1 learned how to be so sneaky! Aside from the blatant lies that flow so freely from her cherub lips, she’s super crafty.

I’m pretty sure I haven’t been crafty or sneaky around her for the past few years, so she can’t have picked it up from copying me, but maybe she’s picked it up from my husband 😉  (Okay, so it’s more likely to be from my DNA but it’s so much easier to blame someone else don’t you reckon?!)

Since we could communicate with each other my motto has been that if she tells me the truth she won’t get in trouble – but it seems to be getting harder to stick by that mantra. Mainly because she never seems to tell the truth!

And now she has two younger brothers to blame things on she has really mastered the art of sneakiness. I mean it’s not the end of the world by any stretch but it does bug me.

The funny thing is, being her mum I know what she’s thinking before she does it and can often cut her off at the pass. For example, the three slices of apples she was asked to eat just magically disappeared in 30 seconds. When she delivers me an empty bowl, I smile sweetly and ask ‘ which rubbish bin or couch did you hide them in?’ The look on her face is priceless and she proceeds to fish them out with her head hung low.

Or then there’s the ole’ I’ve got eyes in the back of my head and can see everything you do” – if this doesn’t work I pull out the old Santa card, just perfect at this time of year.

“Remember Santa sees everything and you really don’t want to be on the naughty list so you’d better start telling me the truth”.

She even has a knack for the ole’ Winona Ryder and Lindsay Lohan trick, yes that’s right taking things that aren’t hers because ”I really want them and I don’t have them”.

A few years back I even had to scoop out a potential contraband item from underneath the stroller at a department store. She was a lot younger then but was on the cusp of knowing better, and she saw something she wanted and just took it.

Thankfully before the mean door lady, who thinks all mums are shoplifters, found it I fished it out. I then proceeded to gave her a lecture about how mummy could go to jail for stealing etc etc.

Imagine that – being fed three times a day, not having to do the dishes, or washing, tidying up, and I’d even get a quiet room all to myself, this is sounding better by the second.

But dreams aside, I’ve realised that even if you try to be the best role model you can, sometimes there’s not much  you can do to stop nature from taking its course.

And it’s probably best that way anyhow.

Author: Have A Laugh On Me

I'm a mum to three, write from home and I rarely cook, craft or clean but admire those who do. I try to live by the mantra that there's no point in worrying about something that might not happen! Be warned this is not a fluffy, sweet mummy blog, rather a place where you can cringe, laugh and be shocked at my brutally honest take on my life.

Leave a Reply

