Have a laugh on me

We're not all in the same boat, some of us struggle to even get in the boat!

I asked for a day off but my mean boss said ‘hell no biatch’

Leave a comment

I asked my boss for a week off work but the bitch said no – oh hang on, I am the boss!!

I would just like to leave the computer off for one day, to completely ignore emails and not have to write 100 or so of them every day.

There’s a lot to be said for just being able to chill at home with my babies, reading them books, colouring in, playing Lego or bouncing on the trampoline with them (okay as I’ve given birth three times I often try to avoid this).

I know I’m not alone is this wish – most working mums would love to spend more time just being with their kids.

I’m also afraid they’re going to mimic my behaviour, eg always on the computer or phone and it scares me.

Image

But I really can’t stop working because of financial reasons. As well as this I’m also keeping my hand in the cookie jar so I have a career I can fall back on when my chickens fly the coop!

Like most working mums the guilt I feel is a heavy burden. There are moments when being a stay-at-home who doesn’t have to work sounds idyllic.

And don’t get me wrong I know stay-at-homes ‘work’ eg they run a house, often work in the family business, take care of a husband, nurture kids, wash, cook, clean etc.

What I’m talking about is the precious few mums out there that are lucky enough to be able to just be at home with their kids in domestic bliss (or chaos).

I used to be one of them before No.2 was born, and when I look back I can’t believe how great I had it – a pity I didn’t appreciate this at the time.

But being a kept woman rocked! 

This is not to say I don’t enjoy my work, and enjoy the fact that my contribution helps take the stress out of our lives a little bit. But with three little ones to raise, endless bills and a mortgage to pay, I don’t really have a choice, and neither do a lot of mums.

As a mum who works from home, I often wish I could take a lunch break that didn’t involved hanging washing or doing dishes.

But then again by not working in an office environment I also get to have my children with me a lot more instead of them spending long days in daycare.

But this was the choice I made. I did give up a good career to raise my children and also I turned down the chance to climb the ladder professionally in order to stay at home with them.

The way I saw it, and still do, is that they grow so fast and I want to be there during their young, formative years.

I don’t regret this decision at all and while it might have put me back 10 years career wise, I still have big ambitions to get back out there once my darlings are more independent.

Until then, I must try to accept that I am so many things to so many people.

Let’s hope one day I can find a little bit of time for me.

Author: Have A Laugh On Me

I'm a mum to three, write from home and I rarely cook, craft or clean but admire those who do. I try to live by the mantra that there's no point in worrying about something that might not happen! Be warned this is not a fluffy, sweet mummy blog, rather a place where you can cringe, laugh and be shocked at my brutally honest take on my life.

Leave a Reply

